Project 25, Post. No. 8: Free will  

“I’m just not as… calculated as you.”

That has been said to me more than a few times in different situations. Dates, interns, family members have all looked at my notebooks filled with pro/con lists with eyes filled with incredulity, sometimes tears.

It’s true - I’m an extremely deliberate person. Every decision is weighed carefully, against very specific guidelines. I order the steak, add fries and eat it.

horse.gif

But what happens when that sureness ebbs? When suddenly, the columns scribbled onto notebooks seem more fluid?

Embrace it. You are responsible for every thought, every decision and every relationship you generate, make and maintain. So do each with gusto, and with intention - but don’t be so rigid that it gives you white streaks. Although I will say, dyeing my white hairs pink is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Don’t forget to consider the opposite of your habit – I promise it’ll make things a bit more balanced.

So here’s to inviting skepticism where sureness sits, and calling for confidence when you’re confused.

Oh - and for funsies, here’s a #TBT to 1989.

photo (2).JPG

Donate here! click please

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Project 25, No. 17

Sorry for the late post on Day 17, folks. I was at Outside Lands, which is like foggy Coachella without the camping part. Here’s a shot from 2014: And one from 2013: The difference? Not much, except for hair length. And this year, we... Continue →