Project 25, Post No. 2: On salad  

Thanks for the continued shares reposts, retweets and more, everyone. I’ve only got $425 left to raise - so if you’re one of the lucky ducks that works somewhere that does corporate matching, may you please consider giving a couple bucks for clean water?

giphy.gif

I’m currently at my parent’s house, in town for a childhood friend’s wedding. It’s my first wedding as a grownup, where I’ll actually know the bride and groom on a personal level and not just by some loose blood tie.

In preparation for said wedding, I’ve been eating a lot of salad so I can fit nicely into a navy blue dress with a tight waist.

My mother, who still embarrassingly buys all my clothes, presented me today with a flouncy orange dress instead.

“I just thought it was so cute!” she screamed as she shoved it into my arms.

It was. Sharp, geometric patterns. Flattering-looking silhouette. And: pockets.

I immediately ran to my room to try on the frock. In my eagerness, I didn’t realize that the Helmut Lang sheath was about half of the width of my hips and chest. I didn’t realize this unfortunate fact until I was already sheathed within the sheath, in a Chinese finger trap for the torso.

I had somehow managed to wiggle into the dress due to the lubrication created from the velocity with which I flung on the garment combined with the slicking effecting of my sweat (an effect of the 90 degree temperature of Los Angeles).

Being a big girl (in more ways than one, I suppose) I approached the problem like a business plan, complete with a SWOT analysis. The first way to solve the problem, I reasoned, would be to undo myself by peeling myself out of the dress, using the floor as leverage.

And as I wiggled on the brand-new carpet my parents had installed recently, slowly being asphyxiated by a 60’s inspired, totally summery pattern, my vision started to go dark (either with the lack of air going to my brain or because there was black lining on the dress). I wondered, “God, what if I die with a dress with the TJ MAXX tag still on, completely uncovered from the ribs down? Have I lived the life that I want? Will my brother discover me and know what to do?”

I continued to wiggle and writhe, determined to both beat this stupid mod outfit and also live.

“Oh my god, what am I going to wear to this wedding?” I then began to wonder, edging my head from an inside-out shell.

I had conquered the dress, but realized that salad wasn’t enough. It was time to do more.

I may have slayed the orange dragon this time, but what happens when the next dragon isn’t a pretty dress, but a mysterious lump, or an unusually murky X-ray?

Salad wasn’t enough.

I saw death today, and It was discounted designer wear, sitting in a heap on the floor of my childhood room.

If you’re in the mood, donate to support clean water in Cambodia here: [stayclassy.org/25reasons](stayclassy.org/25reasons). You can even request content if you give!

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Project 25, Post No. 9: Growing up

I have a confession to make. I’ve got a bit of a Napoleon complex. Yep - I know. Barely peeking over five feet, I’ve always been referred to as “cute.” To this day, people still pinch my cheeks (on my face, you pervert). But cute doesn’t... Continue →