Project 25, No. 18: Supermoon

Happy Supermoon, y'all. This time, it’s accompanied by a meteor shower. It’s almost like a Syfy sequel.

I’m so happy science seems to be cool these days. Blame it on Neil Degrasse Tyson. But just look at the young scientist! Look at the SHIRT!

There are so many things to learn and explore and dissect. It’s almost overwhelming. So how can we fit a little science in our day? Here are my three favorite ways to fit in some quality brain spa time.

I. ASAP Science

I can’t tell you how many times I cite ASAP Science as a high quality, excellently executed example of short, snappy and informative content. They’re usually three to five minute videos that explore topics such as the biology behind hangovers, the chemistry of laziness and the effect of drugs on the brain.

Here’s a genius bit that dares to ask: should we be eating insects?

Personally, I think we should be. Grasshopers aren’t bad!

II. Stuff You Should Know

If you follow my Facebook activity closely, you’ll know that I’m an avid podcast listener. SYSK is one of my favorites, and just features two friendly nerds (with the occasional guest) exploring issues like: is brain size related to intelligence? Can you die of a broken heart? How does electroconvulsive therapy work?

And yep, they make videos too.

III. Long reads

One of my favorite things about today’s super varied media landscape is that it’s encouraged long form content to really up its game. So who makes my favorite science themed content? Jacobin, Nautilus and The Atlantic. So Pocketable, so good for a lazy afternoon.

Thanks for reading, folks, and don’t hesitate to email/tweet me if I’ve missed any sweet sciencey digests. @claresayas / clare.sayas@gmail.com.

Oh and don’t forget - [consider donating, please](stayclassy.org/25reasons)!

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Project 25, No. 20: Fear

Have you ever had music that just hit you right in the place you tuck away and only bring out when no one’s looking? That’s what Lily Allen is like for me. She helps me come to terms for being an angry girl in an unfair world, filled... Continue →